About us

History

What’s one to do with 500 acres of land that includes a 70 acres marsh, agricultural fields and rolling mountains accentuated by a magnificent mixed forest. This was the question that Michel Leclair asked himself upon acquiring this vast property located just outside of the charming town of Wakefield

The Origin of Eco-Odyssée

Above all, Michel Leclair is passionate about nature. Rich with knowledge about both wildlife and plantlife, he captures the attention of anyone who questions him about the subject by sharing his fascinating and incredible anecdotes. Michel has spent his life working in the forest, and calls animals, trees and natural phenomena his colleagues. Following his experience as an Animal Conservation Officer in the Gatineau Park, Michel started his own business, “S.O.S.Wildlife “, in which the main goal was to manage the beaver population, as well as the beaver habitat and the marsh.

Having almost disappeared from its natural habitat in the last century, the beaver came back to the North American continent in full force, bringing with it several advantages and disadvantages. On one hand, dams built by the beavers promote the development of marshes, which are home to rich and diverse animal and plant life. On the other hand, these dams can flood the agricultural lands and wooded areas, along with forest and municipal roads and pathways, and when they collapse, the water that escapes can destroy everything manage by its habitat. Over time, Michel developed an unmated expertise in managing the beaver and its habitat. Today, he is proud to be known as an expert in his field.

One question remains to be answered: can we cohabitate with the beaver, or should it be eliminated? For Michel Leclair, the answer is obvious. Human beings can cohabitate with this animal, but in order for this to occur, we must properly manage its habitat. Over time, Michel developed an unmated expertise in managing the beaver and its habitat. Today, he is proud to be known as an expert in his field. More than 200 water control devices were installed in the Gatineau Park with over 300 colonies of beaver on 360 km ². This has resulted in almost eliminating the negative impacts of beavers on our infrastructure.

The expertise that he developed was highlighted throughout a movie led by Jari Osborne and by The Nature of Things with David Suzuki. Entitled The Beaver Whisperer, this film is in part dedicated to the achivements of Michel Leclair. It is available on the website of the CBC. In addition, from this website, it is possible to see the beavers live thanks to different cameras installed on the Eco-Odyssée property.

The Eco-Odyssée Concept

In 1997, Michel Leclair developed the idea of sharing his precious knowledge on the beaver and its habitat following the purchase of his vast property in Wakefield. The concept of the water maze came to him from the beavers that he worked alongside for 35 years; the beaver, upon settling in a habitat, digs a network of underwater canals that are similar to a labyrinth. This network allows it to move around throughout the entire year in order to find food and wood to build dams.

So what does one do with 70 acres of land? Michel did a vast water maze with an interwoven canal system, to allow those who wish to discover in true beaver fashion, the richness of the marsh environment. During your paddle boat journey through the marsh, you will experience the environment from a beaver perspective. In fact, aboard the paddle boat, you will be just above the water surface, which will focus your field of vision to the labyrinths edges, putting you directly in contact with plants and wildlife located there. In addition, thanks to the dams build by beavers, the water level in the maze is controlled. With the table set, all that remained, with the help of family and friends, was to refine the elements that would give birth to the Eco-Odyssée project.

The Development of Eco-Odyssée

The development of the maze project began in 2002 and continued over 5 years. 2007 was a monumental year for Eco-Odyssée. The installation of the labyrinth as well as the planning and development of different adventures led to a month of trial runs with the public. The originality of the concept, the relaxation and the beauty of the environment charmed the participants and this positive feedback allowed Eco-Odyssée to take off.

Eco-Odyssée is, first and foremost, a vast water labyrinth comprising 64 intersections spread out over more than 6.4 km. By paddle boat, visitors can discover the labyrinth and learn about the rich diversity of plant and wildlife living there.

Eco-Odyssée is also an ecotourism venture. The purpose of ecotourism is to promote the discovery of animal and plant life while respecting the environment and ecosystems. As a general rule, ecotourism activities aim to be both educational and interpretive, and we kept this in mind while designing our adventures. The process of completing the adventures allows participants to develop their knowledge of nature and promotes the existence of a healthy relationship between humans and the environment.

What’s new since our opening!

We are now in 2018 on our eleventh year operating. Since it’s creation, Éco-Odyssée has proudly welcomed over 70 000 visitors. During this period, the business has innovated by offering to the visitors these new adventures:

Adventures using Iphone or Android application. Offered in seven different languages, these adventures allow the visitors to identify themselves easily in the maze (GPS location) while learning more about the animals in our marsh thanks to programmed animations.

The Bugologue, an adventure that allows us to discover the world of insects on a pedestrian path throughout the forest with white cedar, black spruce and fir.

Predator/ Prey, our pedestrian maze which teaches us a little bit about the world of predation while identifying animal tracks and dung.

The Rapido, an adventure in the walking maze where participants have to find numbered posts to punch their adventure card;

Scientific adventures offer the possibility for students to discover the fauna and flora of the marsh by photographing some species that can be found on the site to then establish their specific features.

Acknowledgments

Since it’s creation, the efforts of Éco-Odyssée’s business have been recognized and crowned with success nationally, provincially and regionally :

2009 : Winner of the Tourism Industry Association of Canada in the category of New Tourism Business of the Year

2010 : Regional winner of the Grand Prix du tourisme québécois in the category of Ecotourism and adventure tourism

2013 : Regional winner of the Grand Prix du tourisme québécois in the category of Ecotourism and adventure tourism

2013 : Provincial Gold winner of the Grand Prix du tourisme québécois in the category of Ecotourism and adventure tourism

 

Eco-Odyssée
52, Chemin les Sources
La Pêche (Wakefield), Qc.
J0X 3G0
819-459-2551
Visit our Youtube chanelVisit our Facebook page
2009 Canadian touristic award
Our awards

Qui nous sommes

Historique

Que faire d’un site de plus de 500 acres constitué d’un vaste marais de 70 acres, de champs agricoles et de collines agrémentées d’une magnifique forêt mixte ? C’est la question que s’est posée Michel Leclair lors de l’acquisition de cette propriété située à quelques kilomètres du charmant village de Wakefield.

L’origine du concept d’Eco-Odyssée

Michel Leclair est avant tout un passionné de la nature. Riche de connaissances sur la faune et la flore, il captive quiconque ose lui poser des questions sur le sujet en agrémentant ses récits d’anecdotes fascinantes et abracadabrantes. Normal pour un homme qui a passé sa vie dans la forêt à côtoyer comme collègues de travail animaux, arbres et phénomènes naturels. Suite à son expérience en tant qu’Agent de conservation de la faune au Parc de la Gatineau, il démarre sa propre entreprise « SOS animaux sauvages » dont la principale vocation est de gérer le castor et son habitat, le marais.

Presque disparu du paysage au milieu du siècle dernier, le castor est revenu en force pour s’établir sur tout le continent avec tous les avantages et les inconvénients que cela comporte. D’une part, les barrages que les castors construisent permettent la multiplication des marais dans lesquels s’établissent une faune et une flore aquatiques riches et diversifiées. D’un autre côté, ces barrages peuvent inonder les terres agricoles, les boisés, les chemins forestiers et municipaux et lorsqu’ils cèdent, l’eau qui s’en échappe peut détruire tout sur son passage entraînant des pertes financières importantes.

Une question s’impose d’elle-même : pouvons-nous cohabiter avec le castor ou devons-nous l’éliminer? Pour Michel Leclair, la réponse est évidente. L’être humain peut cohabiter avec cet animal et pour cela, il faut gérer adéquatement son habitat. C’est au fil du temps que Michel a développé une expertise sans pareille dans la gestion du castor et de son milieu de vie. Aujourd’hui, il est reconnu comme un spécialiste dans le domaine et il peut en être fier. Plus de 200 dispositifs de contrôle de niveau d’eau ont été installés dans le parc de la Gatineau qui compte plus 300 colonies de castor sur 360 km². Cela a eu pour effet d’atténuer de manière significative les impacts négatifs du castor sur ses infrastructures et d’en contrôler la population.

L’expertise qu’il a développée a été soulignée dans le cadre d’un film dirigé par Jari Osborne et présentée par The Nature of Things avec David Suzuki. Intitulé The Beaver Whisperer ce film est consacré en partie aux réalisations de Michel Leclair. Il est disponible sur le site internet de la CBC . De plus, il est possible, à partir de ce site internet, de voir les castors en direct grâce aux différentes caméras installées sur le site d’Eco-Odyssée.

Le concept d’Eco-Odyssée

L’idée de partager son précieux savoir sur le castor et son habitat a germé dans l’esprit de Michel Leclair en 1997 suite à l’achat du vaste terrain à Wakefield. Le concept du labyrinthe aquatique lui vient des castors qu’il a côtoyés pendant 25 ans ; le castor, lorsqu’il s’installe dans un habitat, creuse un réseau de canaux sous l’eau semblable à celui d’un labyrinthe. C’est ce réseau qui lui permet de se déplacer toute l’année dans le but de trouver sa nourriture et le bois nécessaire à la construction des barrages.

Que faire d’un marais de 70 acres ? Un vaste labyrinthe d’eau entremêlé d’un vaste réseau de canaux pour permettre à qui le veut bien de découvrir, à la manière d’un castor, la richesse du marais. Lors d’une promenade en pédalo ou en canot dans le marais, votre vision de l’environnement se rapproche de celle du castor. En effet, à bord de ces embarcations, vous vous retrouvez à fleur d’eau. Votre champ de vision est limité par les bords du labyrinthe, ce qui vous met directement en contact avec la faune et la flore qui s’y retrouvent. Ajoutons à cela que c’est grâce à l’aménagement du barrage de castors que le niveau de l’eau à bord du labyrinthe est contrôlé. La table étant mise, il ne restait plus, avec la famille et les amis, qu’à peaufiner les éléments qui donneront naissance à Eco-Odyssée.

La réalisation d’Eco-Odyssée

Les travaux pour la réalisation de ce labyrinthe aquatique débutèrent en 2002 pour s’échelonner sur une période de 5 ans. L’année 2007 fut décisive. L’aménagement du labyrinthe ainsi que l’élaboration d’aventures alliant plaisir et apprentissage ont abouti en un mois d’expérimentation auprès du public. L’originalité du concept, la détente, la beauté de l’environnement et la réalisation d’aventures au cœur d’un marais ont charmé les participants et les participantes. Les conclusions de ces essais furent amplement satisfaisantes pour permettre au projet Eco-Odyssée de prendre son envol.

Eco-Odyssée, c’est tout d’abord un vaste labyrinthe aquatique de 64 intersections étalées sur plus de 6,4 km et c’est en pédalo ou en canot que les visiteurs partent à la découverte, à l’apprentissage et à l’interprétation d’un milieu où la faune et la flore sont richement diversifiées.

Eco-Odyssée, c’est aussi une entreprise à vocation écotouristique. L’écotourisme a pour objectif de faire découvrir la nature, les espèces animales et végétales tout en respectant les écosystèmes. En règle générale, les activités écotouristiques comportent une part d’éducation et d’interprétation. C’est ce que proposent nos aventures. Leur déroulement et le matériel remis aux participants contribuent au développement de leurs connaissances et d’une relation plus saine entre l’être humain et l’environnement.

Les nouveautés depuis l’ouverture

Nous voilà rendu en 2016 à notre neuvième année d’opération. Depuis sa fondation, Eco-Odyssée a fièrement accueilli plus de 60,000 visiteurs. Pendant cette période, l’entreprise a innové en offrant aux visiteurs les nouveautés suivantes:

  • Des aventures utilisant la technologie du téléphone intelligent avec une application iPhone ou Android. Offertes en sept langues différentes, ces aventures permettent aux visiteurs de se repérer facilement dans le labyrinthe (localisation GPS) et d’en apprendre davantage sur les animaux vivant dans le marais grâce aux animations programmées;
  • Le Bibittologue qui est une aventure qui nous fait découvrir le monde des insectes dans un sentier pédestre traversant une forêt de cèdres blancs, d’épinettes noires et de sapins;
  • Prédateur/Proie notre labyrinthe pédestre qui nous en apprend un peu plus sur le monde de la prédation en identifiant les pistes et les crottins des animaux ;
  • Les aventures scientifiques qui offrent la possibilité aux élèves de découvrir la faune et la flore du marais en photographiant certaines espèces qui s’y retrouvent pour établir par la suite leurs caractéristiques spécifiques.

Les reconnaissances

Depuis sa fondation, les efforts de l’entreprise Eco-Odyssée ont été reconnus et couronnés de succès tant au niveau national, provincial que régional :

2009 : Lauréat de l’Association de l’Industrie Touristique du Canada dans la catégorie Prix de la nouvelle entreprise de l’année pour l’excellence en tourisme

2010 : Lauréat régional des Grands prix du tourisme québécois dans la catégorie Écotourisme et tourisme d’aventure

2013 : Lauréat régional des Grands prix du tourisme québécois dans la catégorie Écotourisme et tourisme d’aventure.

2013 : Lauréat OR provincial des Grands prix du tourisme québécois dans la catégorie Écotourisme et tourisme d’aventure.